top of page

The Sabine Series in Literature

Set in the bucolic town of Angie, Louisiana, The Lord’s Acre tells the story of Eli Woodbine, a young boy who watches helplessly as his fundamentalist parents give in to their increasing sense of desperation and paranoia, living in a world where they can no longer see any hope or reason for existing.

When the family is at their absolute lowest, they come across a local, charismatic church leader, in whom they quickly place all of their faith. Yet this man—known to them only as “Father”—is unlike anyone they have ever encountered before. But one day, and with no explanation save for a mysterious gift given to Eli, Father disappears, leaving everything behind him in ruin.

Eli and his parents attempt to pick up the pieces, however, as they try to find answers to their new predicament. But their efforts go awry when Eli breaks into an abandoned grocery store one night in order to steal food for his family. He is arrested and taken to jail, where, to his surprise, he is finally able to discover the hope he had always been so desperate to find.

The Lord's Acre: A Novel

  • David Armand was born and raised in Louisiana. He has worked as a drywall hanger, a draftsman, and as a press operator in a flag printing factory. From 2017-2019, he served as Writer-in-Residence at Southeastern Louisiana University, where he is currently assistant professor of creative writing. In 2010, he won the George Garrett Fiction Prize for his first novel, The Pugilist's Wife, which was published by Texas Review Press. His second novel, Harlow, was published by Texas Review Press in 2013. In 2015, David's third novel, The Gorge, was published by Southeast Missouri State University Press, and his poetry chapbook, The Deep Woods, was published by Blue Horse Press. David's memoir, My Mother's House, was published in 2016 by Texas Review Press. His latest poetry chapbook, Debt, was released in 2018 by Blue Horse Press.  His seventh book, The Lord's Acre, is forthcoming this fall from Texas Review Press. David lives with his wife and two children and is currently working on a collection of essays.

  • ISBN: 978-1680032208


    256 pages


    Texas Review Press, 2020

bottom of page