top of page

Few law enforcement agencies have attracted more publicity and attention than the Texas Rangers. Founded in 1823 and periodically reorganized to face new challenges, the Rangers served as frontier troops during the Texas Indian wars, as border-hopping counter-revolutionaries, and later as state police assigned to cases ranging from alcohol raids and kidnapping investigations to strike-breaking and riot control. The Texas Rangers details the exploits of this famous unit, tracing its history from its beginnings on the wild, lawless frontier to its performance in the modern world of drug trafficking, terrorism, organized crime, and serial murder.

The Texas Rangers (Law Enforcement Agencies)

  • A California native, Michael Newton has published 348 books under his own name and various pseudonyms since 1977. He began writing professionally as a "ghost" for author Don Pendleton on the best-selling Executioner series and continues his work on that series today. With 130 episodes published to date, Newton has more than tripled the number of Mack Bolan novels completed by creator Pendleton himself.
    Newton's first book under his own name was Monsters, Mysteries and Man (1979), a survey of unexplained phenomena for younger readers. While 216 of Newton's published books have been novels--including westerns, political thrillers and psychological suspense--he is equally known for nonfiction, primarily true crime and reference books.
    Newton's Encyclopedia of Serial Killers (Facts on File, 2000) is currently in its second edition. His history of the Florida Ku Klux Klan, The Invisible Empire (2001), won the Florida Historical Society's 2002 Rembert Patrick Award for Best Book in Florida History. His Encyclopedia of Cryptozoology was named as one of twelve books on the American Library Association's 2006 list of Outstanding Reference Sources. His western, Hanging Judge, was a finalist in the 2010 Western Writers of America's Spur Awards. His western, Manhunt, won the 2010 Peacemaker Award from the Western Fictioneers, and his novel, Avenging Angels, was a finalist in the same category, and was also a finalist for the 2011 Best Original Mass Market Paperback for the Western Writers of America's Spur Awards. His western, Blood Trails, was nominated for the 2011 WWA Spur Awards for Best Western Novel. His western West of the Big River: The Avenging Angel was a finalist in the 2014 Peacemaker Awards for Best Western Novel by the Western Fictioneers. In 2017 he received the Western Fictioneers Lifetime Achievement Award for Western fiction.

  • ISBN: 160413626X
    6 x 9 Hardcover
    128 Pages
    Published: November 01, 2010
    Features: Bibliography, Index, Ikids, Table of Contents, Illustrated

bottom of page